All MetalShaping

Go Back   All MetalShaping > Metal Shaping Projects > Automotive Projects
  Today's Posts Posts for Last 7 Days Posts for Last 14 Days  

Old 03-11-2014, 02:57 AM
MetalShaper of the Month June '15

Default A Dino 206 build

Good morning guys

I am new to this forum and new to metal shaping as well, means I am a beginner and just have a limited number of tools right now.
I am building a 105% scale Dino 206 over a hacksawed GT40 fiberglassbody, and will try to build it all in metal. I have a planishing hammer and an english wheel, no stretcher/shrinker and no bead roller at the moment.

Yesterday I was working at the bonnet, and would like have a nice metal transition around the raised part of the bonnet in the center (see marking).
I wheeled up a test part, but figured out that at the front and rear 180 degree curves the metal transition needs to be stretched, and than the stretching needs to fade out.

How can I fade out the stretching with the english wheel cause there is no shrinker/stretcher at my shop.
I saw something with a rubber band around the upper wheel, which will just bend the metal , no stretching.
Can I start with this idea, and than use the wheel without rubber band to stretch-bend it at the halfcircle curves at the ends?
Or do you have another advice for me?

The original car:

Last edited by axelkloehn; 03-11-2014 at 07:23 AM.
Old 03-11-2014, 05:05 AM

Thats a cool project, please keep us informed of your progress, and welcome to the site.
Cheers

Assumption is the Mother of all Sutff ups.

Resto Rod Race.
Old 03-11-2014, 09:01 AM
MetalShaper of the Month Oct 2016, June 2020, April 2023

Wow, nice start and very cool!
Old 03-11-2014, 09:28 AM
ADMINISTRATOR MetalShaper of the Month Dec. '09 & May '11

Hi & welcome to the site

The rubber band is just to bend the metal.

you can stretch the metal by wheeling more at the edge and less as you move in on the panel.