All MetalShaping

Go Back   All MetalShaping > GETTING STARTED > Introductions
  Today's Posts Posts for Last 7 Days Posts for Last 14 Days  

Old 09-17-2009, 10:02 PM

Default New Guy in Central MO

Hello all, I'm a younger fellow from Belle MO. It's a dinky little town out here in flyover country (AKA BFE), which is wonderful, I wouldn't live anywhere else. My name is Ryan Shanks.

I'm an engineer and self taught machinist. Self employed as a niche market inventor and entrepreneur. I've developed and marketed products for race cars, hot rods, customs, paintball markers, firearms, and industrial machines. The name of my company is Logic Industries LLC. I'm sure as I go along, I will build tools for myself that might be of use to others. If/When that occurs, I'll probably offer them for sale, but there's no telling when or even if that will happen, so don't look for it any time soon.

I raced open wheel dirt modifieds all around MO for nine seasons. Basically since I've been able to drive cars, I've been racer.

The common denominator in all my pursuits is metalworking. I love making things from metal.

I've been a welder and a fabricator since I was a kid. Learned to arc (SMAW) weld when I was twelve, and I've been slowly been adding processes as I age. Learned mig (GMAW) when I was a freshman in high school, learned to gas weld (OAW) sheetmetal (which I love, BTW, pretty much the only way I will weld thin sheetmetal is with the torch) about three years ago, and I've been working on my tig (GTAW) technique since then. I am constantly amazed at how versatile the GTAW process is. Honestly, I'm a little pissed that I waited so long to learn it.