All MetalShaping

Go Back   All MetalShaping > Metal Shaping Projects > Beginner Projects
  Today's Posts Posts for Last 7 Days Posts for Last 14 Days  

Old 08-04-2012, 05:17 PM
Metal Shaper of the Month, November 2012

Default 66 corvair restoration.

hi, my name is brent and i dont capitalize letters. lol

but i do love metalwork. i am a bodyman and painter (all in one, combo, jack of all things wrecked, ect) i joined the site to learn more!! i am 22 but i thought i would share my latest project that im working on weekends with my wife for a customer. i work weekdays rebuilding wrecks.(vw's mainly) along with hummer stuff. i REALLY like my job. (oops i capitalized.)

anyways.. heres the pics.

car was last restored in 81. EONS! ago!! lol so it needed a nice refresh!

my wife will take the pics for me i just place my lil cardboard magnetic arrows around the car! we email the pics to our customers! helps keep them involved. this is a fiberglass patch panel. there is alot of glass in this car as i have come to find out!

i found lots of metal-to-metal globbed over welds here! :'(

newspaper fiberglass and bondo. greenville high school football did well in the 81 season... lol j/k

was rubbing the panels and my thumb went through here!!! wowza!

lower patch was bought the uppper i made i have since planished it out more and it looks better.

that was not easy but it was FUN!

once all the rust was removed there was not much left. i made my new panels and patterns of each panel before i removed the old one. the bondo/fiberglass/newspaper was so thick it made a nice buck for clamping as i worked on the rear panel

across the top i will make another panel to go in with the holes punched on the ironworker for the bumper.. my first e-wheel panel i bought a nice one this week but it only came with one lower anvil...... so far... :P

i am rather proud of this panel! it will be fully welded and sandblasted/ect before i put it in.