All MetalShaping

Go Back   All MetalShaping > Metal Shaping Projects > Automotive Projects
  Today's Posts Posts for Last 7 Days Posts for Last 14 Days  

Old 01-31-2019, 12:41 AM

Default Convertible floor replacement question

Hello Group,

I have a 1952 Morris Minor Tourer (convertible) that needs new floors. I can buy them from the UK $$$ but I'm going to make them.
My Question is, how best to do a temp frame on the inside and how should it look to keep the car in proper form. These cars are Unibody from the fire wall back, and have 2 frame rails forward that are connected with inner fender, and floor panels. Pictures attached.

I'm new to this but I do know that if I cut it all out at once the car will loose a lot of support, so I plan on 1 side at a time, is this a good plan? I have to do the floors from the firewall all the way to the back seat including the bottom of the reinforcement box with the row of holes in it. The rest of the car is quite solid and needs little to no work.

Name:  IMG_20190112_163617865_HDR.jpg
Views: 869
Size:  86.0 KB

Name:  IMG_20190112_163653572.jpg
Views: 826
Size:  86.4 KB

Name:  IMG_20190121_115446634.jpg
Views: 842
Size:  85.3 KB

Name:  IMG_20190121_122856832.jpg
Views: 811
Size:  84.7 KB

It's a early UK export and a donor is hard to find, and probably not any better shape.

looking forward to a discussion and hopefully some advice.

TX

Last edited by Steve Hamilton; 01-31-2019 at 09:14 AM.
Old 02-01-2019, 04:57 AM

Hi Chris.
Those floors are pretty easy to do, no shape in the front floor sections as they are flat, except for memory the back part of the front floor has a hollow(Like foot well incorporated) into it and curves to the tunnel which is short. Its easier to make from 2 pieces and run a joggle inline with the B Pillar. The one I did had a support running under the floor from around 100mm from the handbrake.