All MetalShaping

Go Back   All MetalShaping > General Metal Shaping Discussion > Buck Building
  Today's Posts Posts for Last 7 Days Posts for Last 14 Days  

Old 10-04-2015, 10:37 PM

Default fender buck for 03 golf

So I have jumped into the world of metal shaping. My background is machinist, with some fabrication/welding skills. I just got an older syncrowave TIG machine, along with and english wheel, shrinker stretcher, hammers/dolly's, roughing bag etc. I'm building a car (motor work, along with custom wheels and custom trunk setup) and would like to make some big body fenders to go with the wide wheels that won't fit in the original fenders. I have followed closely all of the videos online Lazze, Covell, etc and have an idea of the direction needed to go. My question I guess is how do I know how to shape each of the stations as the curve changes? Is this done by simply slightly changing each shape from one to the next? Here are some pics of my preliminary design. Any tips would be great. How am I going to connect those fins, or stations (not sure if i'm using the right terminology) if the body panel of the car isn't flat to accomodate an arc shaped wooded "base" to screw the fins to. I hope this makes sense to someone.

Old 10-05-2015, 05:01 AM
MetalShaper of the Month March 2019

i would say don't get too caught up trying to match each station you made, what i would say is if the look and flow looks correct then if it doesn't match it exact it doesn't matter. its the second one you make that has to match.

not being very good at shaping myself i would suggest making a paper pattern or FSP (flexible shape pattern) then cut some steel and bend it as that's the best bit...

good luck with it Jason, I'm guessing your a fan of the 034 vw golf?
Old 10-05-2015, 12:33 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by neilb View Post