All MetalShaping

Go Back   All MetalShaping > General Metal Shaping Discussion > Buck Building
  Today's Posts Posts for Last 7 Days Posts for Last 14 Days  

Old 08-05-2015, 11:10 PM

Default Egg Crate Buck in Google SketchUp

Hello everyone,
I came across this plug-in feature for Google's free SketchUp program that can be used to create a egg crate style buck for a car body. Since this section is devoted to Buck Building I thought it would be a good fit, and bear with me as I'm a better artist than tutorial writer . First you would download the SketchUp program (free) then also down load the 'Slice Modeler'' plug-in. Plug-ins are the name for add on features you install into your SketchUp program, there must be thousands of them! So, I started with a generic car shape I created in Sketchup. Pic 1.
Then I selected my shape by clicking on it, the edges turn blue to show its selected. I must make it a group or component so Sketchup sees the whole car shape as one unit, not just a bunch of lines next to each other. The upper menu select EDIT and in the drop down menu select, MAKE GROUP, a note here that 'make component' also works.
Pic 2
With your car body selected, go to the upper menu and select PLUG INS and in the drop down box select SLICE MODELER
Pic 3
The dialog box will open for the Slice Modeler to display your options for the distance in between slices (4'', 6'' etc) , the thickness of each slice (1/2'' plywood) and what axis you want to apply it to, X (across) ,Y (longways) or Z (up and down). In Pic 3 I sliced the model along the Y axis and I created 7 stations front to back