All MetalShaping

Go Back   All MetalShaping > General Metal Shaping Discussion > Welding Sheet Metal
  Today's Posts Posts for Last 7 Days Posts for Last 14 Days  

Old 11-08-2019, 08:04 AM

Default 4943 aluminum rod

I just broke down and bought some 4943 rod. Has anyone used this? TIG? Gas?
Old 11-08-2019, 12:00 PM

What is the application? What is the base metal? Why this rod specifically?
I've looked it up and it seems to be quite a universal rod, but the info I read does not speak to it's ability to be shaped or worked if doing metal work on the welds, is that something that you will be doing?
Here is some info but still curious about the ability to shape it after welding.

http://www.fabricatingandmetalworkin...lsion-systems/

OK lots of questions I know, but I'm not a welder by trade just a hobbyist and just someone that likes to learn and I guess ask questions.

TX
Mr fixit
Chris
Old 11-10-2019, 09:18 AM

Default Alum rod

I bought it to try on a trailer fender crack. I heard someone say they don’t use 4043 anymore because this is better. The workability issue was the main reason I posted here. Wonder if anyone has worked out a weld. It I stronger, so it may be worse than 4043. I’ll start to play with it.
Old 11-10-2019, 03:51 PM
MetalShaper of the Month October '14 , April '16, July 2020, Jan 2023

Quote:
Originally Posted by billfunk29 View Post
I bought it to try on a trailer fender crack. I heard someone say they don’t use 4043 anymore because this is better. The workability issue was the main reason I posted here. Wonder if anyone has worked out a weld. It I stronger, so it may be worse than 4043. I’ll start to play with it.

Hi Bill,
I've never been a fan of the 4043 filler, except for aluminum castings, which it was specifically designed for. Then somewhere along the long decades after 1935, it became the "go to" filler recommended for generic "aluminum" by nearly every welding supply across the USA. Hmmmmmm.......