All MetalShaping

Go Back   All MetalShaping > GETTING STARTED > Introductions
Register All Albums Event Calendar Today's Posts Search
  Today's Posts Posts for Last 7 Days Posts for Last 14 Days  

Old 10-03-2017, 08:53 AM

Default McPherson, KS

Hello fellow metal artists!

In 2015 I graduated from the McPherson College Auto Restoration program. I was the...um...most-non traditional student among the non-traditional students. What a priveledge it's been to be around young, talented, driven students who appreciate old iron.

I took all the sheet metal shaping classes I could during my education here, not because I'm good at but because I'd like to be. My instructor was Ed Barr, author of the book "Professional Sheet Metal Fabrication". That was another great privelege. Because my wife and I settled in McPherson after I graduated, and because I now teach part-time at McPherson College (not in the auto resto program), I regularly get to see Ed and the other outstanding professors of restoration technology.

I've supplemented my sheet metal education with a Fay Butler class. I must have a thick skull because it takes multiple teaching episodes for things to sink in.

I am very interested in traditional, non-powered shaping methods. It's partly because I have very limited shop space, and many other items competing for my tool dollars. My objective is simple: I want to be able to build anything, with nothing. Or as close to nothing as I can get.

Feel free to ask me questions about the program at McPherson College, but be prepared for my gushing enthusiasm for the college, the students, and the great faculty.
Old 10-06-2017, 06:27 PM
MetalShaper of the Month Dec. 2019, Feb. 2022

Welcome aboard Scott.

my project:
http://www.allmetalshaping.com/showthread.php?t=154
Old 10-07-2017, 05:41 AM
MetalShaper of the Month May 2013, Dec 2013

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lsversaw View Post
Hello fellow metal artists!