All MetalShaping

Go Back   All MetalShaping > Metal Shaping Projects > Automotive Projects
  Today's Posts Posts for Last 7 Days Posts for Last 14 Days  

Old 09-30-2013, 06:02 PM

Default Designing and Making Trailer Fender

I’ve wanted to make fenders for my boat trailer for some time now but I’ve had a difficult time getting the project started. I decided to attend both the Dixieland and the Route 56 gatherings this fall as motivation to get this project going. I figure that once I signed up to attend I was committed to the project.

I’ve been kicking an idea for the fenders around in my head for a while, but this is the first time I put it on paper. The first few attempts didn’t look too good, but about sketch #5 it started to take shape. Here is what I came up with.

Name:  Trlr 01 - Sketch.jpg
Views: 4988
Size:  72.1 KB

I know that some of the people on this site build things without bucks, but I have very little experience and so I think building a buck will be a good idea for me. This will also force me to resolve many of the details before I start shaping metal.

I haven’t built a buck before, but I have built several boats and the process looks sort of similar. I also bought and viewed Ron Covell’s DVD on making a fender from Scratch four times to see how he did it. I think I understand the construction ok, but he had a fender to copy while I don’t. – BIG DIFFERENCE!

First I drew out a full size profile on some cardboard and set it on the trailer to see how it looked.

Name:  050.jpg
Views: 5213
Size:  83.1 KB

I spent quite a bit of time studying the photos that I took of the cardboard and changed the design a bit and cut a strongback out of ½” MDF. Here it is back on the trailer.

Name:  Trlr 02 - MDF.jpg
Views: 4954
Size:  73.8 KB

Here is a ¾ view to make sure it looks ok at an angle.

Name:  Trlr 03 - Trlr View.jpg
Views: 4737
Size:  74.7 KB