> Shelby Cobra, My first digital buck design. - Page 2 - All MetalShaping <
All MetalShaping

Go Back   All MetalShaping > General Metal Shaping Discussion > Buck Building
  Today's Posts Posts for Last 7 Days Posts for Last 14 Days  

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 03-08-2017, 04:41 AM
Trevor B Trevor B is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Hawkesbury NSW Australia
Posts: 10
Default

Dan,
if you go down the tracer path you will not need the 3D data you have.
you can have the profiles vector scanned which will give you a 2D drawing in DXF or DWG format. These can be imported into a 3 D modelling program.
Catia, ProE, solidworks etc. This will give you the profile "stations"
before you start profiling you need to set up 3 datum planes to work from
A longitudinal vertical plane, a transverse vertical plane and a horizontal plane. you need to measure from these three planes where you carry out each of the profiles.
It is also great if you can do some longitudinal profiles 3 or 4 positions across the body one of which is the centreline.

you can do this with an arm that extends out sideways from you tracing device

You can place painters tape on the body and mark the profile locations on it..

you can of course use the traced profiles and directly cut the stations from them. You only need to put into 3D if you wanted to get a surface.

this is how it was done long before 3D

you will be surprised how accurate the end result will be using your profile traces.

the iges files that you have a very difficult to edit - if you know the native 3D program they were created in then that is the only way you can edit them. You can "add" and "subtract" bits , however, with the profiles you trace it will be easier and quicker to establish your own data.

best of luck
trevor
__________________
Trevor

Last edited by Trevor B; 03-08-2017 at 04:46 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-08-2017, 10:34 AM
Maxakarudy Maxakarudy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Origin of the wheel, UK
Posts: 593
Default

Hi Dan,

I like the pantograph, but when the axis swaps from vertical to horizontal, the maker will have a different reference point, how will you account for that?
__________________
Cheers
Martin

No matter how clever you think you are, stupidity is always one step ahead!!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.