All MetalShaping

Go Back   All MetalShaping > Metal Shaping Projects > Automotive Projects
  Today's Posts Posts for Last 7 Days Posts for Last 14 Days  

Old 06-18-2019, 09:12 AM

Default Cobra 289 project

Hi,
I would like to make aluminum body and fit it on FFR Cobra 289 frame. I am new in metal shaping so I will have some basic questions but if it's ok I would like to ask in this thread so all the information is in one place.

Metal shaping: I looked at the "What you need to get started in metal shaping" thread. Apart from this equipment I will probably use english wheel and planishing hammer. What are some cheap but reliable solutions I could use? Is it possible (cheaper) to make the english wheel on my own? And will I need any other machines for the project e.g. bending machine? The more compact the better since I don't have that much free space.
Edit: What is the difference between Reciprocating and Planishing hammer?

Welding: Can I make the work done just using oxy-acetylen or should I consider to get TIG also?

Aluminum alloy and thickness: I was recommended 3003 and 5052 (for door, trunk and hood) and thickness of 0.063. Do you have any comments on this?
Do you know what alu alloy and thickness use Kirkham to make the body and where to get it? I think I have read somewhere they are using aircraft grade aluminum. Is it possible to use the same quality material. I am asking in case they have some machines (I won't have accesse to) which would be essential for working with potentially thicker/stiffer material.