All MetalShaping

Go Back   All MetalShaping > General Metal Shaping Discussion > Shop Safety
  Today's Posts Posts for Last 7 Days Posts for Last 14 Days  

Old 07-10-2014, 12:57 AM
MetalShaper of the Month September 2013

Default Flash Back Arrestors?

I'm starting a new thread based on Dave Deyton's good question about adding safety features to welding outfits.

What's the difference between the flashback arrestors that mount to the torch, and those that mount to the regulators? Should you use both? If only using one, which is best?

David G's comments about safety have gotten me rethinking my three O/A rigs and their safety features. Been using regulator arrestors for 3 decades. Maybe need torch ones too?

Kent's point that you can overthink all this is also true, as I've welded 32 years (self taught) and never had a problem and certainly DON'T want Big Brother sticking his nose in my shop.

Ideas? Opinions?
Old 07-10-2014, 02:01 AM
MetalShaper of the Month May 2012, Jan 2013, Oct 2013

Hi Bill.
I can just talk about the Swedish law around this ac - ox outfits.

A rig should have backfire blockers attaced to the regulators AND the torch handle at both sides and all this ones have a experied date.

After the date is out they SHOULD be changed for a approved set which can be new or re checked by a aproved company , usully handled by the welding and gas depot.

Every 5 year SHOULD the hoses be replaced and thats the same for propan hoses.

All garages and shops that have gasbottles MUST have a sign at the wall that says their are gas in there.

ALL gas bottles SHOULD be set back in a marked spot in the shop over the nights, always near a door. IF the rigs are spread over the shop and a fire start the fire dept. Will just back off and let the building burn down, just try to cool down the bottles to avoid bombs!

At every gas rig it is recommended for safety a pair of heavy leather glowes and a fireproof blanket.