All MetalShaping

Go Back   All MetalShaping > GETTING STARTED > Introductions
Register All Albums Event Calendar Today's Posts Search
  Today's Posts Posts for Last 7 Days Posts for Last 14 Days  

Old 10-11-2010, 05:06 PM

Default Hello. My name is...

Hey guys! New guy here! Not sure why I'm just joining this or really WHY it took me so long to find out about it...

Figured I would do the right thing and introduce myself. Tdoty filled me in on the place and thought it was best I should join! Thanks TIM!

My name is Scott, I'm a Leo, I like pizza, long walks on the beach and.... oh. Wait. Sorry! Wrong website...

...I'm a mechanical engineer by day and filling in every other available second with knowledge about metal shaping, machining, welding, and especially hot rods and building them. Been addicted to hot rods since seeing pictures of my Dads hot rod he had in the 60's and the disease just stayed with me. I love this stuff and more recently I've just been trying to learn and absorb all the information and I can about metal shaping.

So... Here I am!

Here's what I'm working on...

If you would like to read more about it, I have a combined build thread on the HAMB about the car. I can post the link if anyone is interested.

There's still a ton more work to do on the car, especially metal shaping stuff. Going to build a removable aluminum roof insert from scratch, a hood, and just a ton of smoothing here and there.

Right now in the shop, I have a few good tools to work with.... English wheel, shrinker and stretcher, a bead roller, a sheet metal brake, tubing bender, riveting tools, a mill, and your basic hand tools and sheet metal smashing and filing devices. In the works I have a little CP planishing hammer to modify and set up, some thoughts on a louver press, and been staring at power hammer ideas a lot lately (mostly dreaming).