All MetalShaping

Go Back   All MetalShaping > General Metal Shaping Discussion > Basic questions and answers
  Today's Posts Posts for Last 7 Days Posts for Last 14 Days  

Old 05-19-2016, 11:44 AM

Default any advantages of using Meco torch vs Tig

I'm considering the purchase of a Meco acetylene torch for welding 19 gauge steel and .050/.060 thin gauge aluminum. I already have a nice Tig which I'm getting better at using. I'm wondering if it would be a waste of money or are there any advantages over the Tig with the Meco torch
Old 05-19-2016, 12:00 PM
MetalShaper of the Month August '15 Jan '17 Dec'17 Aug'19

for steel id say its a waste of money.. and for aluminum too.. i'd argue i can get tig welds just as durable as i can get with meco with a few little ninja tricks.
Old 05-19-2016, 02:02 PM

Hi Steve,

Can you share some of those ninja tricks because I can break my tig ali welds with just two hits on a sandbag. I'm new to tig welding and thou my welds look good they break easily. My OA welds can take much more beating. I bought tig for steel but I keep wondering because acetelene is harder to get in the future.

Greetings,

Frank
Old 05-19-2016, 02:57 PM
MetalShaper of the Month Jan 2019