All MetalShaping

Go Back   All MetalShaping > General Metal Shaping Discussion > Basic questions and answers
  Today's Posts Posts for Last 7 Days Posts for Last 14 Days  

Old 06-21-2016, 07:04 AM

Default Trouble with snips?

Hi:fficeffice" />>>
>>
I’m a novice metal shaper and I’m having trouble cutting accurate lines with snips. I have shaped some pieces for an inside fender and I need to trim them along scribed lines so I can weld them together. My cuts with the snips just don’t seem good enough and I’m afraid that I’ll distort the panels I’ve made by cutting them, or not be able to cut on the lines.>>
I’m using asset of Wiss with green, red, and yellow handles that was recommended to me ( I got them from Home Depot). I understand the concept of left hand and right hand cuts. The problems I have: First cut in is good, when I push the snip along for the next snip it seems to bind- I can only get about an additional 3/8” to ½” inch of cut. The metal I’m cutting can’t be pushed up and over the tool (especially on the side of the piece I want to keep). >>
I’m using 20 gauge steel.>>
I’ve seen power cutters that look quite nice and I wonder if I should go to one of them, but I don’t know if they work on curved metal, I’ve only seen them used on flat pieces.>>
Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks >>
Old 06-21-2016, 07:42 AM
MetalShaper of the Month March 2019

there are some occasions i turn my red snips upside down and cut the waste off, the snips you have should be fine

any pictures you have of what you are cutting will always help...
Old 06-21-2016, 08:43 AM
MetalShaper of the Month October '14 , April '16, July 2020, Jan 2023

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shawnm View Post
Hi:

http://www.tinmantech.com

"All it takes is a little practical experience to blow the he!! out of a perfectly good theory." --- Lloyd Rosenquist, charter member AWS, 1919.
Old 06-21-2016, 09:04 AM
MetalShaper of the month Feb.-11, July - 2018, Sept. 2020