All MetalShaping

Go Back   All MetalShaping > General Metal Shaping Discussion > Metalshaping videos on-line
  Today's Posts Posts for Last 7 Days Posts for Last 14 Days  

Old 08-14-2019, 07:28 PM

Default Kerry was right on about Wray

I have followed Wray for about 3 years. LOTS of really good info. His present series on building a Jag front end is great! Metal Fabrication: Jaguar E-Type Aluminum Bonnet Build (Part 4) has tons of info. I would start with part 1-2-3 then do 4. 4 is over an hour, most on the wheel (using, cleaning, polishing is great) Really good stuff. I have been using my wheel for 10 years and learned a lot. Fred26T
Old 08-15-2019, 05:48 AM
MetalShaper of the Month March 2019

i'm sorry i have to disagree, he went to a lot of effort for nothing and that flexible shape pattern fitted even when the panel looked like a barrel. not for me sorry
Old 08-15-2019, 10:35 AM
MetalShaper of the Month November 2017

neilb, I understand your questioning the point of the flexible pattern if it fits the metal even when it doesn't even resemble the final piece. I'm sure there a many approaches to come up with the final piece. I'm a relative novice to metalshaping but i've drank the Koolaid. I've used Wray's method and it works.

I believe Wray's point is that there are two factors that drive a piece's final shape, area and arrangement. Area denotes stretching and shrinking of local areas relative to the overall piece. The flex pattern preserves that information. Arrangement denotes the primitive form underlying in the piece, e.g. cylindrical, flat, etc. and it's orientation. The templates preserve the arrangement information and he made those in a previous episode.