All MetalShaping

Go Back   All MetalShaping > General Metal Shaping Discussion > General Discussion
  Today's Posts Posts for Last 7 Days Posts for Last 14 Days  

Old 05-09-2017, 10:13 AM
MetalShaper of the Month Jan 2018

Question Door skin fabrication tips and tricks??

Quote:
Originally Posted by heinke View Post
Shaping and attaching door skins is coming soon. I've never done that before and am hoping to not contribute more pieces to scrap bin

I bought a couple of sheets of Al 5052, .063 as I've heard that's a better alloy for door skins. Fortunately, the door skins on this body are mostly curved in only one direction, thus almost no compound curve to worry about.

Do you guys have any tips and tricks for making/attaching door skins that can help me out?
I put this request up in the GTO build thread, didn't get any answers, so putting it up here for more visibility.

I did see this video on making a door skin, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5oFsHldmjDU Most of it made a lot of sense to me but the annealing part left me baffled. I'd think you'd want the door skin to retain as much of the work hardening as possible for dent resistance. Is the annealing required for the edge folding/hemming to minimize cracks? I don't recall that he gave the alloy grade used in the video. I've hemmed 3003 without any crack issues, is this something needed for 5052 hemming?
Old 05-09-2017, 11:45 AM

the section being annealed is the top of the skin, complicated area... start video at 6.00 and you can see the finished flange for the window edge, annealing allows him to shape that section without pulling the shape out of the reverse curve below, this guys done a few of them id say lol. Normally you shouldnt need to anneal a simple closed flange, more critical is the size of the flange being made smaller in a rounded corner
Old 05-09-2017, 02:54 PM
MetalShaper of the Month Feb 2015