All MetalShaping

All MetalShaping (https://allmetalshaping.com/index.php)
-   Beginner Projects (https://allmetalshaping.com/forumdisplay.php?f=26)
-   -   Motorcycle tank (https://allmetalshaping.com/showthread.php?t=14528)

sandmanred 12-07-2015 08:47 AM

Motorcycle tank

3 Attachment(s)
I'm in over my head right now. This is the shape I want to make. How would one divide this up for shaping? I have a stump and hammers and an english wheel. I can probably cobble together any other hand tools necessary. Any and all advice welcome.

Attachment 35287

Attachment 35288

Attachment 35289

Pokie 12-07-2015 09:03 AM

Gas Tank

Looks cool! I'm not a pro at this but I guess I'd make the top one piece then each side separately and weld them on. Of course, this from a complete novice but it is a start.

I too am in the process of making a tank but mine is still in my head. On mine, I was actually thinking of making the inside first. Having that part fit the bike then work out. I guess I'm doing mine backwards because my bike has a lot of items on the frame that need to be avoided.

AllyBill 12-07-2015 01:28 PM

I'd make that in three. A top and two sides. Keep the top nice and wide so it has shape down the outer edges. That means you have less shape to put into the sides and where your welds go will have lots of shape too so it won't distort as much.
Alternatively you could make it in four with a spine down the centre and each half made of two pieces, that way you could get each side into the wheel to wash out the shape after welding then only have the central weld to sort by hand. You'd also not have as much to scrap if one piece got away from you.
Either way will work and neither way is the 'right way' so crack on and good luck!

Will

sandmanred 12-07-2015 01:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllyBill (Post 119874)